Just One Damned Thing After Another, by Jodi Taylor

Book number 45 for 2024; 5/5 stars.

This book was recommended by my manager at the library. It’s the first book in a series that has at least twenty books in it, now. I’m a fan of time travel stories, so I checked it out. Boy, am I glad I did!

We are introduced, in this book, to our “hero,” Madeleine Maxwell, usually referred to as “Max” in the story. She is recruited to join an outfit called “St. Mary’s,” that is funded, apparently, by a local university. Before she can even be interviewed, she must sign a NDA, stating that she can never discuss what she sees that day with anyone outside of St. Mary’s. Once she finally learns what is happening, she is all in.

The writing and story line, here, remind me quite a bit of Connie Willis’s work. I haven’t read all of hers but have read some, and have thoroughly enjoyed them. Willis’s work is a bit more serious, I think, as there were many moments in Just One Damned Thing when I was laughing out loud. But it has its deadly serious moments, as well, especially in the two major time jumps that the team does.

At one point, they go back to the Cretaceous period, which is thrilling. And one discovery that is made during that jump (or actually after it) leads them to the last jump of the book and what is attempted there. I’m not going to say any more about that one, in order to avoid spoilage. 

I was amused, early on, by a line that seem to sum up the attitude of Max perfectly. When told to think carefully about her decision as to whether she will join up with St. Mary’s, her thought was “Thinking carefully is something that happens to other people.” I rather love that line. Later on, it is almost repeated as she thinks, “Health and Safety is something that happens to other people.”

And just to add a little spice to the story, there is a sudden and almost unexpected (but not quite) sex scene on page 163 that is quite intense. As far as I can remember that is the only such scene in the book. 

I am quite looking forward to continuing in the series. I just looked at a favorite website, Book Series in Order, which recommends that I read The Very First Damned Thing next, even though it is the tenth volume in the series, as it is billed as a “prequel.”

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.