The Silkworm, by Robert Galbraith

Book number 29 for 2024; 4/5 stars

This is the second of the Cormoran Strike novels, and I do believe I enjoyed it quite a bit more than the first one. If I recall, I wasn’t sure if I would continue in the series, but I’m glad I did.

The writing style of “Robert Galbraith” is quite different, in my opinion, from that of the Harry Potter series. It resembles more the style in The Casual Vacancy. The tone is dark and, at times, depressing. The characters tend to go through their lives with little hope or expectation, or else, the frequently have those shattered.

Strike, himself, the detective, is single, with a failed relationship behind him, and, in this tale, has to deal with his ex getting married. Obviously, he still has feelings for her. He is practically homeless, living downstairs (or is it up?) from his office. But he’s a good detective.

Robin, his assistant, wants to also be a detective. There some excellent writing in this book as the two of them deal with expectations that they both have (or don’t), and it is quite delightful when Robin finally asserts herself and clears the air.

The crime, itself, in this one is quite gory in detail, and the writer kept me guessing all the way through. I never did figure out “whodunit,” in this case. I had some ideas, but they were all wrong. But it’s very Agatha-Christie-like, in that almost everyone involved in this one seems to have both motive and opportunity. 

it’s a great story, and I will definitely find time to continue on. I know it is still going, because we have the latest installment on our new book shelf at the library where I work.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.