Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

Today is Wednesday, May 1, 2024. May is upon us!

Here’s what’s happening today.

Today is Calan Mai. If you’ve never heard of this, don’t feel bad. I haven’t either. Apparently, it is a Welsh holiday, heralding the beginning of summer. Over here, in the U.S., it is May Day. Not to be confused with “mayday,” an SOS call, this is a day celebrating life and nature’s renewal. But I really like that it is Global Love Day. The message kind of goes along with Jesus’s message about love, which is to love our neighbor as we love ourselves. This celebration encourages us to love ourselves and then spread it around.

I had a fine evening at the library, yesterday. I had three carts to shelve, some new books, some DVDs, and a cart full of nonfiction books that must have been taken off of the new book display. I had some great conversation with my friends there, one of which centered around the Prime Video production of the Fallout series.

I finished season one, yesterday, and was delighted. The season finale was great, and had some “wow!” moments in it. I haven’t talked to any Fallout fans who have not liked the series. One of my librarian friends told me that it is the most streamed Prime Video series in history. Now, I have to decide if I am going to go ahead and finish True Detective (I’m about halfway through season four) or start The 3-Body Problem. I’m leaning toward finishing TD first.

Today is my Wednesday off. C is working from home. I have a load of laundry to fold, but that’s pretty much it. Oh, and I need to get some yellow onions, so I may run up to the grocery store for that. Unless I change my mind about tomorrow’s dinner. I’m a little undecided on that, because C will not be here tomorrow night, as she is flying out to Vegas tomorrow for the aforementioned bowling event.

The Texas Rangers beat the Washington Nationals, last night, 7-1. Jon Gray (1-1) finally got a win. This puts the Rangers at 16-14, still in second place in the AL West, a game behind Seattle. They will play the Nats again, this evening, at 7:05 CT, in Arlington. Andrew Heaney (0-3) will start for Texas.

The Boston Red Sox blanked the SF Giants, yesterday, 4-0. Cooper Criswell (2-1) got the win for Boston. The Sox are now 17-13, still in third place in the AL East, 2.5 games out of first, which is occupied by Baltimore today. The Sox and Giants will play again, tonight, at 7:10 ET, in Boston. Kutter Crawford (1-1) will start for Boston.

The Atlanta Braves are the best MLB team, today, with a 19-9 record (still no 20 game winners). The Other Sox are back in the worst spot, at 6-24. The Minnesota Twins are still streaking, having now won nine consecutive games! The Colorado Rockies and Pittsburgh Pirates are both currently on three-game losing streaks. The LA Dodgers lead MLB with 169 total runs scored, while the Other Sox trail, having only scored 84. The Rangers have 139 total runs, while Boston has 143. There’s a three-way tie in the run differential column, as the Braves, Guardians, and Royals all have +45. The Other Sox are at -79. The Rangers are currently at +13, and the Red Sox are at +37.

I’m currently reading Caliban’s War, the second book in the Expanse series, written by “James S.A. Corey,” who is not a real person. I am 22% into it, with a little less than 500 pages to go. My goal is to have it finished by Saturday. I don’t know. That’s about 460 pages in four days. We’ll see. My library doesn’t charge overdue fines, though, so I technically have until Saturday, May 11, before my account gets blocked. But there’s another book due on that day.

Ah, the problems we readers face.

I guess that’s it for today. I hope you have an awesome Wednesday!

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.