Firefly!!

Today is Wednesday, April 24, 2024. Another day in the series of palindromic dates (if you use the two-digit year format). 4/24/24.

I’m writing from the circulation desk at my library, as I am on shift today, from 9:15-6:15. I typically won’t have time to write in this blog before leaving for work on these days.

As I look through today’s “holidays” on daysoftheyear.com, I was just about to tell everyone that it’s Scream Day, which I fully support. A good scream can always be helpful.

But then I saw that today is Firefly Day. And I almost screamed. Firefly was the greatest show to ever be killed by network incompetence. And, yes, we are STILL mad at Fox for killing it. We will ALWAYS be mad at Fox. “We” are the Browncoats, the ever-loyal fans of this space western/space opera or whatever you want to call it.

I will watch almost any show that has any cast member from Firefly in it. We are currently streaming Suits on Netflix, because it has Gina Torres in it. I have watched Resident Alien (and others) because it has Alan Tudyk in it. I tried to watch The Rookie, because it had Nathan Fillion in it, but couldn’t get into that one. I did, however, watch all the seasons of Castle.

It’s a normal every-other-Wednesday. I’m at the library and C is working from home. I will be attending choir practice tonight, so I won’t be home until late. But we have soup in the crockpot. C started it, this time, because I forgot. I was not quite halfway to work when I realized that I had forgotten to get the soup going, but C came to the rescue.

I’m still reading Daindreth’s Assassin, by Elisabeth Wheatley. I estimate that I will finish it tomorrow, sometime.

The Texas Rangers lost to the Seattle Mariners, last night, 4-0. Dane Dunning (2-2) took the loss. This puts the Rangers at 12-12, and drops them to second place in the AL West (possibly for the first time this season), as Seattle, at 12-11 is a half game ahead of the Rangers. The Rangers and Mariners will play again tonight, at 7:05 CT, in Arlington. Jon Gray (0-1) will take the mound for Texas, hoping for his first win. Perhaps he can get some run support.

The Boston Red Sox lost to the Cleveland Guardians, last night, 4-1. Tanner Houck (3-2) took the loss. The Red Sox are now 13-11 for the season, in third place in the AL East, three games behind the NY Yankees, who are back in first place. The Sox and Guardians will play again tonight, at 6:10 ET, in Cleveland. Cooper Criswell (0-1) will start for Boston.

The Cleveland Guardians are back on top as the best team in MLB, for now, with a 17-6 record. The Other Sox became the first team to lose twenty games, and are now at 3-20, firmly entrenched as the worst MLB team. The Guardians also have the longest current winning streak, at five games. The Other Sox have lost five in a row. The Diamondbacks, last year’s NL champions, are rolling in the runs, and now have 149 total runs scored! They beat St. Louis 14-1 yesterday! Oddly enough, they are in fourth place in the NL West. The Other Sox finally made it 50 total runs, keeping them at the bottom of that column. The Rangers and Royals both have 114, while the Red Sox have 104, as do the Phillies and the Yankees. The Guardians, though, still have the best run differential, at +55, while . . . do I need to type their name again? This year’s worst at everything team is at -79. The Rangers are down to +6, while the Red Sox are at +15.

I guess that’s it for today.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.