Praying with the Psalms, by Eugene Peterson

praying-with-the-psalms

Anyone who has known me for a number of years knows that I am a huge fan of Eugene Peterson. I have read a number of his books, and fond of The Message version of the Bible. When I discovered that he had written this devotional book, I had to get my hands on it.

Praying with the Psalms is a year’s worth of daily devotions that goes through the Psalms from chapter 1 to chapter 150, breaking some of them down into multiple days. Each day, the reader gets a focal verse from the selected passage, a brief commentary on the verse/passage, and a prayer, sometimes taken from a hymn or another author’s work. Each devotional is just a page, and the book is actually smaller than a standard paperback, so the devotions are short. They are a great way to begin the day’s spiritual exercises.

Many authors emphasize the importance of the Psalms in the Christian’s life. Peterson has written several books on them, and when he began translating the Scriptures into modern English, he started with Psalms. Dietrich Bonhoeffer called Psalms “the prayer book of the Bible.” I have long said that I do not believe it to be accidental that they are in the middle of our Bible. Many times, I have gone through a year of reading five Psalms a day, as a routine. The impact on one’s life cannot be measured.

I highly recommend this book for daily devotions, especially to “jump-start” your daily prayers.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

