My Utmost for His Highest, by Oswald Chambers

utmost

This is at least the sixth time that I have read through Oswald Chambers’s great book. And it still continues to amaze, confound, disturb, devastate, and inspire me.

This year, as I read each day’s devotions, I was astounded at how much they went hand-in-hand with the material I was reading on spiritual formation, by Dallas Willard, Richard Foster, and others. While Chambers didn’t always use the same words, the concepts were the same. And this is something that I really want to focus on more, in 2017.

As always, My Utmost gives great material to ponder each day, giving me something to think about on my daily drive to work, as I, well over a year ago, turned off the morning radio and began using the morning drive as meditation and prayer time. Each time I read through, there are some devotions that I remember well from past years. Other devotions seem fresh and almost take me by surprise. This book is almost as “alive” as the actual Scriptures from which it derives.

My Utmost for His Highest is a necessary read for anyone seriously into a devotional life.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

