Daily Guideposts 2016

guideposts-2016

Guideposts are always hit-or-miss for me. Sometimes, they really inspire me, and other times, I wonder why a particular reading is even in there, because it really doesn’t seem to have much spiritual content at all. There are some authors in this year’s book that I really like, and others that I don’t care for at all. I think last year’s volume was much better, as a whole, than this year’s. Of course, I have next year’s ready to go, compliments of my mother’s yearly Christmas gift, which I greatly appreciate.

The readings are never extremely deep, and frequently, if not always, reflect life experiences of the writers. Never deep, but somehow, amazingly profound, at times. My favorite authors in this year’s volume are Andrew and Julia Attaway, Brian Doyle (he was my father’s favorite), Katie Ganshert, Julie Garmon, Rick Hamlin, Brock and Pam Kidd, Carol Knapp, and Carol Kuykendall. I’m sure I’ve left one or two out.

I look forward to seeing what experiences the 2017 volume will bring.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

