The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, by Stephen King

Bazaar

I still love short stories, and I am glad that Stephen King still writes them. As stated in the introduction, some of these stories have been previously published, and I do remember reading at least one of them in a previous book (“Blockade Billy”).

There is a good variety of stories in this book, in my opinion. Some of them are fantastic (meaning completely unbelievable), while others are somewhat terrifying, and some are otherwise disturbing.

I listened to this book on Audible, and thoroughly enjoyed the various readers, although it took me a while to get used to the accent the reader used in “Drunken Fireworks,” which was a great story about a “Forth of July arms race.”

My favorite reader in the book was Will Patton (who also reads the Bill Hodges series). He read the last story in the book, “Summer Thunder,” as well as “Premium Harmony.” Also enjoyable was Fred Weller, who read “Obits,” and “That Bus Is Another World.”

Stephen King even joins in, reading the story “Tommy,” as well as introductions to all of the stories in the book.

My favorite stories in the book were “Bad Little Kid,” which I could easily see being made into a movie, and “Obits,” which also could make a good movie or Twilight Zone-ish episode of a TV show. I also really like “Ur,” a story about an unusual Kindle. My least favorite in the book was the one King read, himself, “Tommy.” I didn’t really get it. Perhaps I wasn’t paying close enough attention, because I always listened while driving home from work. Maybe I will give it another listen, sometime.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable book, and I’m glad I took the time to listen to it.

TTFN, y’all!

2 thoughts on “The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, by Stephen King

Leave a Reply

