Jim Gaffigan Wins My Heart

Dad Is Fat

I received this book as part of the Blogging For Books program.

Dad Is Fat was pretty much what I expected in a book written by one of my favorite stand-up comics. I could pretty much hear him speaking the words I was reading all the way through the book. In fact, there were numerous instances where the words I was reading were verbatim “clips” from some of his routines. And I didn’t mind that at all.

Jim Gaffigan stays true to his traditional themes in this book. Those themes are food, kids, food, and food. And kids. And food. There were many true “laugh out loud” moments. But there were also some very serious moments, moments which I appreciated greatly. One of those is in the chapter titled “Happy Days Are Here Again.”

“I used to have a lot of faith in humanity before the advent of the website ‘comment’ section. These brave, anonymous parents shamelessly gossip and snipe at one another, bragging about how smart and cool their kids are and mocking people who don’t share their ‘cool’ opinions. Newsflash: High school is over. You are not cool. ‘Cool’ is a ridiculous concept.”

I couldn’t agree more. In fact, I pretty much stopped reading Internet comment sections.

The other section is in the chapter titled “Six Kids, Catholic.” In this segment, he is discussing why he has so many kids (Gaffigan and his wife have at least five . . . there may be more by now, who knows). It’s a lengthy quote, but it almost brought tears to my eyes.

“Then why so many? Friends often ask this question. Heck, I often wonder myself. While I can’t think of my life without any one of my children, why so many of them? I like to think people would understand when they see I’m married to a woman as beautiful and amazing as Jeannie. Then again, if the number of our children were based on how I felt about Jeannie, we would probably give the Duggars a run for their money.

“Well, why not? I guess the reasons against having more children always seem uninspiring and superficial. What exactly am I missing out on? Money? A few more hours of sleep? A more peaceful meal? More hair? These are nothing compared to what I get from these five monsters who rule my life. I believe each of my five children has made me a better man. So I figure I only need another thirty-four kids to be a pretty decent guy. Each one of them has been a pump of light into my shriveled black heart. I would trade money, sleep, or hair for a smile from one of my children in a heartbeat. Well, it depends on how much hair.”

I love you, Jim Gaffigan.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

