Daniel Amos–Shotgun Angel

The reason I haven’t had an entry lately is that for the past several weeks, there has been something going on on Sunday, which is the morning I usually post these. But today, I have some time, so I’ll get on with the albums that I am ripping from vinyl.

Today’s album is the second album by my very favorite band of all time and all genres, Daniel Amos. The album is called Shotgun Angel.

Daniel Amos--Shotgun Angel
Daniel Amos–Shotgun Angel

(Maranatha Records HS-032 released 1977)

This album, in my opinion, begins the transition of Daniel Amos from a sort of alt-country to more of an alternative rock. I have to confess that I had not listened as much to this album (or the first one, either) as I had to the rest of their albums, mostly because these early albums were bought much later than the later albums, as I had opportunity to acquire them. My first experience with DA was the Alarma! Chronicles. I went both backwards and forwards from there, buying everything I could as soon as I could. But because of that, their first two albums got a little “short-changed.” As I have listened more to Shotgun Angel, I realize what a mistake that was! Side two, especially, is magnificent! But I’m getting ahead of myself.

The lineup for Daniel Amos on this album is Jerry Chamberlain (guitars, lead & background vocals), Terry Taylor (guitars, lead & background vocals), Marty Dieckmeyer (bass guitar, bgvs), Mark Cook (keyboards, lead & bgvs), and Ed McTaggart (drums, percussion, bgvs). I find it interesting that Jerry gets named before Terry on the album. I need to dig deeper into the history.

The track listing is as follows:

Side One
1. Days and Nights
2. Black Gold Fever
3. Praise Song
4. Father’s Arms
5. Meal
6. Shotgun Angel

Side Two
1. Finale: Bereshith Overture
2. Lady Goodbye
3. The Whistler
4. He’s Gonna Do A Number On You
5. Better
6. Sail Me Away
7. Posse In the Sky

Side two is very interesting, having the appearance of a concept album, perhaps even a “rock opera.” Of interest is the fact that the side begins with a pieced called “Finale.” A few years later, side two would be re-released with an additional song (“Soon”) and some scripture reading by Chuck Smith, late pastor of Calvary Chapel in Costa Mesa, CA, on an album called Revelation. The title song of the album was not written by any of the DA gang, but by Bill Sprouse, Jr.

Here is the title song of the album, “Shotgun Angel.”

This is track four of side one, “Father’s Arms,” already sounding like some of the tracks that will be heard on the next album.

Track five from side one is great fun, a song called “Meal.”

And here, as it should be, is the entirety of side two, all at once.

This is a great album by a great band, that only gets better with time. There will be more to come in weeks to follow. It should also be noted that Shotgun Angel was digitized and released on a 2CD set with lots and lots of extras, and is available at their website, Danielamos.com

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

