Soundtrack–Against All Odds

I realized a few weeks ago that I had not touched my other cabinet of vinyl records, which houses mostly classical music. This extra cabinet dates back to the time that Christi and I went to a community garage sale, looking for a baby walker. Stephanie is now 20 years old, so that tells you how long ago this was! Excuse me while I slip into a mild depression.

But I digress.

Anyway, we stumbled onto a sale at one house that advertised 1000 classical records. I wasn’t sure what that meant, but when we got there, we found boxes and boxes of vinyl records, both single albums and boxed sets. There was Wagner, Beethoven, Mozart, you name it. I almost wept at the scope represented in this garage sale. The prices were very reasonable, as well. I had picked out several, and was foolishly thinking, “I wonder what she would ask for the whole shebang.” About that time Christi walked up to me and said, “I wonder what she would take for all of them.” See why I love this woman? We discussed price for a moment, and agreed to offer the lady $100. We approached her and said, “What would you take for all of them?” She looked a little taken aback and said, “I hadn’t really thought about that.” Christi, always the expert negotiator, said, “How about $75?” Refer to our above discussion. I tried not to look surprised. The lady thought ever so briefly and said, “Okay!” So we carted off boxes and boxes of classical music records (there was also some jazz and avante gard and a few random rock records). We had to have a place to keep all of these, so we went to a bargain store and found a wardrobe for fairly cheap, put it together and put all of the records in it. Eventually, I sorted so that the classical, jazz, and all movie soundtracks are in the wardrobe, and everything else is in the shelves in the study.

So last weekend, after finishing the “C” section in the study, I embarked on the wardrobe records. I was surprised to find that the first one that came out was the soundtrack to the 1984 movie, Against All Odds (Atlantic Records 80152-1-E, also released in 1984), starring Jeff Bridges, Rachel Ward, and James Woods.

Against All Odds
Against All Odds

Ah, Rachel Ward. You see, my seminary roommate and I had a crush on her back then. Christi and I even named our first daughter Rachel. Christi says we named her after Rachel Ward. That was almost 25 years ago, so I don’t really remember. The gist of the movie (which really wasn’t that good, but RACHEL WARD!) was that Rachel Ward played the girlfriend of a gangster (James Woods). Woods hires Jeff Bridges, an ex-football player, to find her, but when he finds her, he falls in love with her. That’s pretty much it.

The soundtrack record is divided between vocal and non-vocal music. Side one features all the songs with vocals and side two features instrumental music, all performed by Larry Carlton and Michael Columbier. Carlton, of course, is a rather well-known jazz guitarist, who happens to be married to CCM artist Michele Pillar. I’ve never heard of Michael Columbier.

The track listing is as follows:

Side One
1. Against All Odds–Phil Collins
2. Violet and Blue–Stevie Nicks
3. Walk Through the Fire–Peter Gabriel
4. Balcony–Big Country
5. Making A Big Mistake–Mike Rutherford
6. My Male Curiosity–Kid Creole & The Coconuts

Side Two
1. The Search (Main Theme)–Carlton & Columbier
2. El Solitario–Columbier & Carlton
3. Rock and Roll Jaguar–Carlton & Columbier
4. For Love Alone–Carlton
5. The Race–Carlton
6. Murder Of A Friend–Carlton & Columbier

If you’re wondering why the names are switched back and forth on side two, that’s how the liner notes list them. I only knew one of the songs on side one, which was the title track, “Against All Odds,” by Phil Collins. I used to play that one on piano, back in the eighties. The other songs are pretty good, too, though (with the possible exception of “My Male Curiosity”), and the instrumentals on side two are very nice.

Here’s the title song, with scenes from the movie. This song/movie came in a very important time in my life. No regrets, but it was very difficult at the time.

Here’s Peter Gabriel’s “Walk Through the Fire.”

I stumbled across the You Tube of the entire second side of the album. If you’ve got the time, give it a listen. There’s some pretty good music here.

TTFN, y’all!

One thought on “Soundtrack–Against All Odds

Leave a Reply

