Floyd Cramer~~On the Rebound/Cream~~Disraeli Gears

And we’re off! It’s 2014, and I’m getting in a new post on the first day! When I got my “Year in Review” email from WordPress, I was dismayed to learn that I had only written eleven new posts in this blog in 2013. That’s terrible! I “resolve” to write more often this year. Of course, I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions. Talk about a recipe for failure. . .

During my days off around Christmas and New Year’s Day, I have managed to rip two new albums (not “new,” you understand, only “new” in the sense that I had not previously ripped them) from vinyl. The first was the last of the vinyl that I have by Floyd Cramer, called On the Rebound (RCA Victor LSP-2359), released in 1961.
On the Rebound
On the Rebound

Once again, I’m not sure where I got this album. But it continues the “split-key” style that was prevalent on the Last Date album. In fact, pretty much every song features that style on this record. I was a bit disappointed in the “sameness” of all the tracks on this one, especially since it was produced by Chet Atkins. The track list is as follows:

Side One
1. On the Rebound
2. Wonderland By Night
3. I Can Just Imagine
4. Faded Love
5. Let It Be Me
6. Two of A Kind

Side Two
1. Danny Boy
2. Corinna, Corinna
3. Tammy
4. First Impression
5. San Antonio Rose
6. Alma Mater

The title track was familiar to me, pretty much the only other Floyd Cramer song that I had ever heard. Most of the songs have a very distinct country feel to them. “Faded Love” is an upbeat country tune, which actually features a nice guitar solo in it. I can’t find any listing of who plays it. Maybe it’s Chet Atkins? To me, the highlight of the album is “Corinna, Corinna,” which has a little more of a bluesy feel to it and less of the “split-key” stuff. I was also a little surprised by “Alma Mater.” You see, that was the very same tune that my college used for its alma mater. I didn’t realize that it was an actual song! 😀

Here’s a You Tube clip of Cramer playing “On the Rebound” with Mr. Guitar, himself. Looks like they segue into “San Antonio Rose,” as well as a few other tunes.

They actually have a clip of “Corinna, Corinna” on You Tube!

Next in my collection was an album by Cream, called “Disraeli Gears” (Atco SD33-232), released in 1967.
Disraeli Gears
Disraeli Gears

This is Cream’s second album, and features Eric Clapton on guitars and vocals, Ginger Baker on drums and vocals, and Jack Bruce on bass, piano, and vocals. The track listing for this record is as follows:

Side One
1. Strange Brew
2. Sunshine of Your Love
3. World of Pain
4. Dance the Night Away
5. Blue Condition

Side Two
1. Tales of Brave Ulysses
3. We’re Going Wrong
4. Outside Woman Blues
5. Take it Back
6. Mother’s Lament

Back when this album was released, pretty much the only song we heard on the radio was the main single, “Sunshine of Your Love.”

But, in years since then, I have also heard “Strange Brew,” “Tales of Brave Ulysses,” “SWLABR” (this allegedly stands for “She Walks Like A Bearded Rainbow”), and “Outside Woman Blues.” I never knew the title of the last two of those until I ripped this record.

Here’s “SWLABR.”

Here’s a clip of “Tales of Brave Ulysses,” performed live on The Smothers Brothers Show. Jack Bruce sings lead on it.

The album closes out with this quirky tune, “Mother’s Lament.”

In all, a classic album by a classic rock band.

Next in line will be an album I didn’t remember having (I’m sure there are a lot of those), called “Live Cream.” See you next time.

TTFN, y’all!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s