Floyd Cramer~~Last Date

I just finished processing my most recent vinyl ripping, Floyd Cramer’s Last Date. I’m honestly not sure how I wound up with so many Floyd Cramer albums (there’s one more waiting to be ripped).

Last Date
Last Date

From what I know about Cramer, this is probably his most famous album and single. I might be wrong, but I think this is true. Last Date (RCA Victor LSP-2350) was released in 1960. The style of the first side is drastically different from the style of the album I wrote about last week. He has switched from the bluesy-jazzy style to a drippy, country, style, typified by the title track, the first track on the album.

Every song on the first side is played with this style that I don’t really have a word for. It’s characterized by the rapid “flipping” from a note to the whole step immediately above or below it. When “Moments to Remember” began, I thought I was listening to “Last Date” in a different key.

Side two, however, returns to the more energetic blues, boogie-woogie style of Hello Blues, and is much more interesting. I’m curious as to why the album producers didn’t mix up the styles more. It might be so that whoever liked the particular style could just stay on one side of the album. Who knows? Anyway, here is the track list for Last Date

Side One
1. Last Date
2. I Need You Now
3. Moments to Remember
4. Tennessee Waltz
5. Too Young
6. Mood Indigo

Side Two
1. Sweetie Baby
2. Mumble Jumble
3. Flip, Flop and Bop
4. Fancy Pants
5. Rumpus
6. Heart and Soul

My favorite song on the album is probably either “Mumble Jumble” or “Flip, Flop and Bop.” Interestingly, they put “Fancy Pants” and “Rumpus,” right next to each other, and they are in the same key. I would never do that on an album, unless it was completely unavoidable. “Rumpus” almost sounds like a continuation of “Fancy Pants.” And imagine my surprise when the last track on the album, “Heart and Soul,” turned out to be the very same song that the two girls who lived across the street from me, when I was growing up, pounded out ad nauseum on the piano in their garage! 😀

Here’s “Mumble Jumble.” The sound quality isn’t great, because it’s recorded from a turntable to an external mic. On the other hand, it’s not horrible.

Here’s “Flip, Flop and Bop.”

And here is “Heart and Soul.”

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

