Alice Cooper–Billion Dollar Babies

It’s been a while since I’ve been here. In fact it’s even been a pretty long while since I ripped this album from my vinyl copy. My mornings have been almost entirely taken up, lately, by my devotional blog. I still have tons of vinyl left, so I really need to get back to that.

The most recent ripping I did was Alice Cooper’s Billion Dollar Babies.

This, in my opinion, is Alice’s greatest work, although I’m also quite fond of one of his nineties projects, called The Last Temptation, which seems to chronicle, in a way, his journey to faith in Jesus Christ. Yes, Alice Cooper is a Christian. Crazy, huh? Makes me like him even more, if that were possible. Alice Cooper was one of my favorite musical artists when I was in my teenage years. When this album hit the airwaves, I was in a youth bowling league with some good friends, and we even named our bowling team, “Billion Dollar Babies.” We would play the title song on the jukebox at the bowling alley every Saturday morning.

The album opens, fittingly, with an introduction, called “Hello Hooray.” It must also be noted that Billion Dollar Babies was most definitely designed to be seen as well as heard. Unfortunately, I was never able to see the show that went along with this record. “Hello, hooray, let the show begin, I’ve been ready,” Alice sings at the opening. One of my favorite tunes on the album is called “Elected.” He speaks, tongue in cheek, of running for political office. “I’m top prime cut of meat, I’m your choice. I wanna be elected.” “You and me together, young and strong…we’re gonna be elected.” The title track is, in typical Cooper fashion, somewhat disturbing as he and his fellow band members sing of dancing with, well, dolls. “Unfinished Sweet” actually presents a rather humorous message about the effects of eating too much candy on our teeth. This is one of the ones that is much better visually, as the climax of the song is the pulling of a tooth. Track number 6 is probably the most famous hit from this album, “No More Mr. Nice Guy.” “Generation Landslide” presents a scenario where the “Billion Dollar Babies” actually run the world. The short, quite disturbing “Mary Ann,” with its almost cabaret-sounding piano, gives rise to the finale of the album, “I Love the Dead,” an anthem of necrophilia. Or is it? You never really know with Alice Cooper, do you?

Here’s a clip of “Elected.”

Here’s “Generation Landslide.”

And here’s a partial clip of a live performance of “I Love the Dead,” including Alice’s famous guillotine stunt. Warning…not for the squeamish.

I’ll be back soon with my next listening or ripping adventure. Thanks for reading and listening with me.

TTFN, y’all!

2 thoughts on “Alice Cooper–Billion Dollar Babies

Leave a Reply

