The Beatles–Revolver; Phil Collins–Hello, I Must Be Going

Well, yes. It’s been a while. I do manage to find time to update my devotional blog every day, but don’t get to this one often enough. Consequently, I also haven’t made much progress in 1000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die, lately, either. The latest album from Tom Moon’s suggestions is “Revolver,” by The Beatles.

The caption for his article on this album is “The Modern (Not Mod) Beatles.” He calls “Revolver” the “big hinge in the discography of The Beatles.” “Rubber Soul,” the previous album, was mostly love songs. The next album, “Sgt. Pepper,s” begins their journey into drugs experimentation. “Revolver,” in a sense, connects them. The album launches with “Taxman,” an unusual dose of cynicism by Harrison. Next is “Eleanor Rigby,” a rather dark song that Moon calls an “odd still-life that is richer in character development than many three-hour movies.” This is followed by “I’m Only Sleeping,” and “Love You To,” which begins with the twangs of the sitar and resembles classical Indian music. Next is the classic love song, “Here, There and Everywhere.” “Yellow Submarine” comes next, their “first acid-trip cartoon.” Ringo sings lead on that one. “She Said She Said” is next. “She said…I know what it’s like to be dead…and she’s making me feel like I’ve never been born.” More acid trips, perhaps? Up next is “Good Day Sunshine,” “pure pop joy for its own sake.” Just a happy song. “And Your Bird Can Sing” is funny to me. “Tell me that you’ve got everything you want, and your bird can sing, but you don’t get me!” Hah! This is followed by some lesser known songs, “For No One,” “Doctor Robert,” and “I Want To Tell You.” The next to last song, “Got To Get You Into My Life,” which I heard first by someone else, and didn’t even know it was a Beatles song for many years. I’m not sure, but I think the first version I heard of this song was by Blood, Sweat & Tears. The final song on the album is “Tomorrow Never Knows,” more sitar/Indian style, and rather trippy. It begins with the words, “Turn off your mind, relax and float downstream.” A fitting ending for this album, which will be followed by the even trippier “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.”

Here’s a clip of “Eleanor Rigby,” my favorite song from this album.

Here’s the trippy “Tomorrow Never Knows.”


As promised by the title, I’ll talk about the last album that I ripped from vinyl from my personal collection. I’ve also made very little progress there in the past month. I must do better. I may never make it through them all. This one was “Hello, I Must Be Going,” by Phil Collins.

It was published in 1982 on Atlantic Records (which, by the way, will forever and always be my favorite record label), number 80035-1. It was Collins’s second solo studio album. It is a typical ten-song vinyl LP, and begins with the popular song, “I Don’t Care Anymore.” I say “popular,” but it only reached number 39 on the US charts (but hit number 3 on the “rock” charts). The biggest single from this album was his cover of “You Can’t Hurry Love,” the last song on side one. Yes, boys and girls, vinyl records had “sides.” That song reached number 1 in the UK, but only number 10 in the US. Most who are old enough to know Collins’s version remember it as a song by The Supremes from 1966. Much of this album, with horns and dance rhythms, sounded like Collins was stuck in the disco era of the seventies. The album hit number 8 on the US charts, number 2 in the UK, and actually made number 1 in Canada. One song, “Do You Know, Do You Care?” reached number 41 on the US rock charts. It sounds similar to “I Don’t Care Anymore,” and also reminds me a little bit of the Genesis song “Home By the Sea,” although it’s much slower. Not a bad album, altogether.

Here is the official music video for “I Don’t Care Anymore.”

And here’s “You Can’t Hurry Love.”

Well, there you have it. Hopefully, it won’t be a month before I do this again. I’ve already begun work on the next vinyl album, but have yet to split the tracks. And, as already mentioned, the next album in Mr. Moon’s book is the infamous “Sgt. Pepper’s.”

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

