The Beatles–Rubber Soul

It has been a while since I have been here. I have found that I keep running out of time in the mornings, writing in my other blog, Revelling in the Overflowing Grace of God, which is primarily my devotional blog.

I’m still (slowly) working my way through 1000 Recordings To Hear Before You Die, by Tom Moon. The latest recording that I listened to is “Rubber Soul,” by The Beatles.

Rubber Soul was release in 1965 on Capitol Records. The caption on the article is “Love Begins To Be A Grown Up Thing…” I didn’t realize how many Beatles hits were on this one album. It begins with the familiar “Drive My Car.”

Next up is “Norwegian Wood.”

After that comes “You Won’t See Me,” which I remember as a hit by Canadian, Anne Murray, released as a single in 1974. Such is the way of many Beatles songs that were actually more popular by other singers.
“You Won’t See Me” is followed by “Nowhere Man,” “Think For Yourself,” “The Word,” and “Michelle.”

So far, the only one I had not heard before was “Think For Yourself.” Then we have “What Goes On,” “Girl,” “I’m Looking Through You,” and “In My Life.”

Nice harmonies, and nice guitar playing. The Beatles are “growing up.”
The album is rounded out with “Wait,” “If I Needed Someone,” and “Run For Your Life,” a somewhat violent-natured diatribe to a girlfriend.
Mr. Moon says that this album is “the most historically significant” of the Beatles albums.

If you haven’t listened to Rubber Soul, you should. It pretty much defines the Beatles, at least up to that point in their career. Next up will be “Revolver.”

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

