The Beatles–A Hard Day’s Night

Good morning. It’s time for another installment of my listening adventures with 1000 Recordings To Hear Before You Die, by Tom Moon. Today’s recording is almost infinitely better than the last one I had to endure. And I have to confess that I had never listened to all of this recording before, only bits and pieces of it. It is:

Yes. The Beatles, “A Hard Day’s Night.”

The article caption says, “This Can Make You Feel Alright.” What fun it was to listen to this recording. I’ll admit it…I’m a Beatles fan and have been since before they broke up. I’m that old. I remember the first time we heard “I Saw Her Standing There” on KFJZ 1270 AM radio in Fort Worth. I remember seeing the video clips of girls screaming and fainting at Beatles concerts. I remember the mop headed boys from England who changed pop music forever. In general, however, I appreciate their music much more now than I did then.

“A Hard Day’s Night” is the first Beatles that accompanied a film. It was released in 1964. It is also the first, according to Mr. Moon, to feature only songs written by Lennon/McCartney. He calls it “the very essence of pop.” Most, if not all, of the songs deal with that “gooeyest of songwriter subjects, love.” Some of the more well known singles on the album are “Can’t Buy Me Love,” and “Tell Me Why.” Moon’s key tracks include “And I Love Her,” “Things We Said Today,” “If I Fell,” “You Can’t Do That,” “I Should Have Known Better,” and “Tell My Why.” All but one of those, I have heard on the radio, along with the title track. “You Can’t Do That” was rather uncharacteristically venomous, a song threatening a girlfriend if she continued to talk to “that boy.” “I’m gonna let you down and leave you flat,” he threatens.

I must say, I felt really good after listening to this recording. It features some very beautiful music, one of the best being, “If I Fell.” Here is a you tube clip of that song:

Here’s a clip of “I Should Have Known Better,” from the movie “A Hard Day’s Night.”

One more, and I’ll stop. Here’s “Can’t Buy Me Love.”

That’s it for today. If you feel so inclined, check out my devotional blog, Revelling in the Overflowing Grace of God.

TTFN, y’all!

2 thoughts on “The Beatles–A Hard Day’s Night

  1. This a great tune. The first time I heard it or of the Battles was in Paris in the early 60s. I went up from the Orleans area to see Duke Ellington’s concert that was sold out. But, I did enjoy the Battles.

Leave a Reply

