1000 Recordings, Continued

As I continue my journey through 1000 Recordings To Hear Before You Die, by Tom Moon, on Monday of this week, I came to a recording called “Arepa 3000: A Venezuelan Journey into Space,” by Los Amigos Invisibles.
Released in 2000, this is a Latin-style recording, and the caption above the article says “The Now Sound of the Latin Diaspora.” I’m not sure what a dispersion has to do with this. With all due respect, this just sounds like Latin disco to me. I didn’t hate it, but I probably wouldn’t listen to it again. Here is a youtube of a track from the album, called “Llegaste Tarde.” It’s a live video, and they start the song with a very slow rendition of the beginning of “Don’t Stop Believing.” That was a bit amusing.


Today’s recording was called “The First Day,” by Albert Ammons and Meade “Lux” Lewis. This recording is, in a word, amazing. The caption over the article says “Talk About an Auspicious Start.” The author categorizes this as “jazz.” It’s more than jazz. This, my friends, is “boogie-woogie.” This is two amazing piano players doing amazing things on the piano. As a piano player myself, I listened with great enjoyment, and not just a little awe. There are five tracks called “The Blues, Pts 1-5.” Another great track is “Boogie Woogie Stomp.” Oh…I almost forgot…

The album is, apparently, one of the first recordings of the Blue Note Label. Eight of the songs are by Lewis, nine are by Ammons, and two are duets. Here is “Boogie Woogie Stomp,” by Ammons.

I couldn’t find a video of the two of them together, but here is one of Ammons, Lewis, and Pete Johnson, called “Boogie Woogie Prayer.”

I could listen to this stuff all day long. I did, in fact, for most of the day today. That’s it for this installment.

TTFN, y’all! Boogie on!

Leave a Reply

