Catching Up On Ripped Vinyl

It’s been a while since I posted the vinyl I’ve been ripping, so I’ll get caught up with that this morning, then try to stay up with it, going forward. Oh. I just used a business term. Oh, well. I think the last time I blogged about this, I was finishing up Steve Camp. The next album was a duet collaboration between Bobbie Gentry and Glen Campbell. It was called “Bobbie Gentry and Glen Campbell.” (Capitol ST 2928)
Released in 1968, it contains such songs as “Little Green Apples,” “Let It Be Me,” “and My Elusive Dreams.” Why do I have this record? I believe it belonged to my Grandmama.


Next up…The Cars and their eponymous album. (Elektra 6E-135)
This one was released in 1978, and is chock full of hits, such as “Good Times Roll,” “My Best Friend’s Girl,” “Just What I Needed,” “You’re All I’ve Got Tonight,” and “Bye Bye Love.” I’m pretty sure I acquired this one at Half-Price Books.


Next is “I Walk the Line” by Johnny Cash. (Columbia CS8990)
This one was released in 1964 and includes “I Walk the Line,” “Folsom Prison Blues,” and “Give My Love To Rose.” I think I got this one (and the next two) from my father-in-law.


Johnny Cash “At Folsom Prison.” (Columbia CS 9639)
Released in 1968, this is a live recording that includes, of course, “Folsom Prison Blues,” “Green, Green Grass of Home,” “Cocaine Blues,” and an appearance by June Carter. These prison recordings are quite interesting.


Johnny Cash “At San Quentin.” (Columbia CS 9827)
This one was released in 1969 and says that it was recorded during the making of a Granada Television program. It includes “I Walk the Line,” “A Boy Named Sue,” “Folsom Prison Blues,” “Peace In the Valley,” and a song written especially for this concert, “San Quentin.” He plays that song twice on this recording, back to back. Very unusual.


Peter Cetera, “Solitude/Solitaire.” (Warner Brothers 25474-1)
Released in 1986, this is the former co-front man of Chicago’s first solo album. Correction…second solo album. He had one in 1981. (Did he do any more? Where the heck is he now?) The first song on the record is aptly titled “Big Mistake,” because that’s what leaving Chicago was for Cetera. There were two fairly successful single on the album, though. “Glory Of Love,” and a collaboration with, of all people, Amy Grant, called “The Next Time I Fall.” It was produced by Michael Omartian. In answer to the two questions in parentheses, he did do several more albums, and released a Christmas album in 2004. He continues to tour, and even has an upcoming date in Houston, TX on January 6, 2012. We bought this record when it was released.


Chad & Jeremy, “I Don’t Want To Lose You Baby.” (Columbia CL 2398)
This monaural recording was released in 1965. It includes “Mr. Tambourine Man,” “Don’t Think Twice (It’s All Right),” and “There But For Fortune.” This record was acquired at Half-Price Books.


Harry Chapin, “Short Stories” (Elektra 75065)
This album was released in 1973, and includes one of his three fairly big radio hits, “W*O*L*D.” It also includes a very lovely story/song called “Mr. Tanner.” Harry Chapin died tragically in a car accident in New York on July 16, 1981. He was on his way to a free concert. Ironically, he was driving without a license, as his license had been revoked due to a string of accidents. However, it is possible that he had a heart attach while driving, which caused the erratic weaving which eventually resulted in the accident. Regardless, the music world suffered dearly at the loss of his talent.
This record was acquired at Half-Price Books.


Harry Chapin, “Greatest Stories Live” (Elektra 7E-2009)
This live recording (with three studio recordings on side four) was released in 1976. In my opinion, this is an epic recording. It includes “W*O*L*D,” “I Wanna Learn A Love Song,” “Mr. Tanner,” “A Better Place To Be,” “Cats In the Cradle,” “Taxi,” and the epic closer, “30,000 Pounds of Bananas.” I bought this record new.


Harry Chapin, “Dance Band On the Titanic” (Elektra 9E-301)
This double album was released in 1977. As far as I know, none of these songs ever made the radio. It includes the title track, and finishes with a 13 minute song on side four, called “There Was Only One Choice.”


Steve & Annie Chapman, “Steve & Annie Chapman” (Star Song SSR-0029)
This record, the first of many for this family-oriented Christian country duet, was released in 1981. I purchased this record new while I was in seminary, during a totally different era in my life. It includes “Things Are Looking Right (For A Miracle),” “Ain’t Gonna Listen (To the Devil Tonight),” and the heart-rending “Daddy, Please Find A Reason.” At some point in the early eighties, a fellow music minister and I hosted them for a concert in Waxahachie, Texas.


Steven Curtis Chapman, “First Hand” (Sparrow SPR 1139)
This is Steven Curtis Chapman’s first album, released in 1987. He looks like he’s 18 on the back cover picture. He was 25 (only 9 days younger than my wife), so not far off. It includes his first CCM single, “Weak Days,” and another song that had some strong radio showing, “Hiding Place.” (“Hiding Place” still sounds good, almost 25 years later.) Chapman has since become a juggernaut in the CCM world, and has won countless awards for his songwriting and recordings. This album was purchased new, possible from a record club deal.


Cheech & Chong “Big Bambu” (Ode Records SP 77014)
Don’t ask my why I bought this record…because I can’t tell you. Although it does have some pretty funny stuff on it. “Sister Mary Elephant,” for one. And “Let’s Make A Dope Deal,” for another. It was released in 1972. I got it at Half-Price Books.


Chicaco, “Chicago Transit Authority I” (Columbia GP 8 )
This ground-breaking record was released in 1969. It may very well be the first LP I ever bought. I remember where I bought it. There was a little television and electronics store in the Brazos Shopping Center in Mineral Wells, TX that sold records. I have quite a few singles that I bought there. I don’t remember how much I paid for this LP, but it was probably in the neighborhood of $6.99. This is, of course, Chicago’s first album. Chock full of hits, it includes “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is,” “Beginnings,” “Questions 67 and 68,” “South California Purples,” and “I’m A Man.” It also has the politically charged “Someday (August 29, 1968)” and “Liberation” on side four of the double LP.


Chicago “Chicago II” (Columbia KGP 24)
Let me just put out this warning. I have every studio recording of Chicago’s up through 19 on vinyl. (Not including greatest hits.) I never got Chicago IV (Live at Carnegie Hall) and stopped after 19, except for a CD recording of 25, which is their Christmas album. (A very good one, at that.) Anyway…this is number 2, released in 1970, also a double LP. This one doesn’t have quite as many hits as the first one, but includes “Make Me Smile,” which is part of a suite of songs on side two, called “Ballet For A Girl In Buchanan.” That suite also includes the hit, “Colour My World.” I’m not sure why Chicago insisted on using the British spelling of “Colour,” but they did it twice on this record. There’s a song on side three called “Fancy Colours,” which precedes the biggest hit of this LP, “25 Or 6 To 4.” Perhaps you are curious as to the naming of this song. It’s quite simple. The band had stayed up all night, and were struggling with a name for this song. It references the time of day. This is validated in a quote from Bobby Lamm one of the founding members. As for the curious title, Lamm says, “It’s just a reference to the time of day”–as in “waiting for the break of day” at 25 or (2)6 minutes to 4 a.m. (3:35 or 3:34 a.m.) No extra charge for that…


Finally…today I ripped Chicago, “Chicago III.” (Columbia C2 30110)
The third consecutive double LP for the group, it was released in 1971 (although the copyrights inside say 1970). This record really only had two singles released from it, “Free” and “Lowdown.” It has more of the multi-song suites on it. Side two is made up of a six song set called “Travel Suite,” which includes the song “Free.” Side three has a five song set called “An Hour In the Shower.” And side four has another six song set called “Elegy.”


That’s all for today. It’s more than enough, don’t you think? Next up will be Chicago V, which ended their string of multiple set LPs.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

