Bus Failure

It’s been a while since I’ve had time to update this blog, over a week, I see. (Taking a brief break at work.) Since then, the biggest thing that’s happened around our house is that school started this week. Stephanie started her senior year Monday morning. There’s been a bit of a hiccup, though, as the bus service has failed to pick her up on time, yet. We were told that she would be picked up at about 7:35. The closest they have come is 7:45, which isn’t terribly late, but they are supposed to be at school by 8:30, and there are at least two other students to pick up after Stephanie, and one of them is in a wheelchair. The one day she got picked up at 7:45, they got to the wheelchair house and the driver couldn’t get the lift to work. They have not gotten to school before 9:00 one day this week!
The last three days, I have called the Stars teacher shortly after 8:30 to let him know what was going on, and yesterday, I know that this was escalated to a principal’s meeting. The principals and vice-principals are pretty upset, as is the Stars teacher. Yesterday morning, I called the bus service, which is, by the way, Durham School Services (I’m not afraid to call them out by name), and was given some line about it being early in the year, etc., etc. If I saw some improvement, I could buy that. But outside of that one day that the bus got there at 7:45, it’s been much later every day. In fact, Tuesday, the bus didn’t arrive until 8:10! So I called them again this morning. I’m going to call every single day until this gets fixed. Supposedly, according to Stephanie, the bus is picking up an Elementary route before it does the High School route. The Elementary kids are supposed to be there at 7:30. Whatever they are doing, it’s not working. If what S said was true, they need to change that, because there obviously is not enough time to make it. Anyway, when I called this morning, I was told that the regular driver wasn’t there today and they had a sub. I can’t say whether this is true or not, because I can’t really see who is driving the bus. All I can see is that it is a woman, and it has been a woman every day. S is already bugging me to take her to school, so they need to get this fixed pretty quick.
Admittedly, Keller ISD might be partially at fault for scheduling school start times too close together to make the bus routes work. Last year, Keller High School started at 9:05, and we never had any problem getting there on time. It almost looks like someone forgot to tell Durham that the start time has changed to 8:30.


Stephanie’s birthday celebration went well. We actually celebrated hers and our son-in-law’s at the same time on Saturday. We all went to Hoffbrau for lunch (my parents came to Fort Worth for the event) and then opened some gifts, sat around and chatted for a while, then the grandparents went home. R & J left soon after that, and we had a nice evening at home. I’ve been trying to remember where we ate on Friday night for her actual birthday, and I…WAIT!! I just remembered! We went to Takara Steakhouse for dinner. That’s a Japanese Hibachi place. Very good, and entertaining, too. For lunch on Friday, C & S came out to where I work, and we went to a Chinese Buffet place close by.


Baseball news! As of this writing, both of my favorite teams are in first place! Of course, they are also playing each other! But, alas, much to the chagrin of some of my friends, I’m pulling for the Sox. Mainly because, when this series started, the Red Sox were a half game behind the Evil Empire. Neither the Evil nor the Halos played Monday, so when the Rangers beat the Sox 4-0, the Rangers gained a half game and the Sox lost a half game to be 1 game back. But the Sox came back with a vengeance Tuesday and Wednesday, scoring 24 runs in 18 innings to beat the Rangers 11-5 Tuesday and 13-2 Wednesday. To help out, the A’s beat the Evil Empire both nights, last night on a 3 run homer in the top of the 10th by former Red Sox Coco Crisp. So now, the Red Sox are a game up on the Evil Ones, and the Rangers are still ahead of the Angels, who are coming to town for the weekend. If the A’s can beat NY again tonight, I’m not so worried about who wins tonight’s match between the Sox and Rangers. I’ll still be rooting for the Sox, though.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

