Red Sox Beat Evil Empire

My guest blog is up at Too Soxy For My Shirt! It’s the first time I’ve ever gotten to do this. Kind of exciting. Also, for my devotional blog, go to THIS LINK.

Sunday night was brutal! I stayed up way too late, and it’s all the fault of the Evil Empire! (I can’t blame the Red Sox, now, can I??) We watched the whole game on ESPN (in spite of Bobby Valentine’s incessant whining about how long Josh Beckett was taking between pitches)…or I should say, I watched the whole game. Christi bailed out around the 7th or 8th inning. At that point, the Sox were down 2-1. I suffered through it. The Rangers had already staged a miraculous comeback from a 3-0 deficit, late in the game. They scored 5 runs in the bottom of the 8th, and went on to win 5-3, and took 2 of 3 from the Tribe. Back to the important game. Sox down, 2-1, due to only two solo homers by Evil batters. Bottom of the 9th…most feared reliever in all of baseball pitching. Papi takes him to right field for a ground rule double. Oops. No. I’ve got my innings confused. Scutaro plays wall ball for a double. Missed a home run off the Monster by a few feet. Ells makes a SAC bunt to move Scuts to third. Pedey then sends a SAC fly to left field, scoring Scutaro for the tying run.
“Oh, great!” We’re going to extra innings! It’s already getting close to 11pm, and I have to get up earlier on Mondays. Bard shuts down the Evil Empire very quickly in the top of the 10th. Youk flies out to center. NOW Papi hits the ground rule double to right field. It bounces two feet off the ground and goes over the fence. Hehehe… Fenway is insane!! It STILL gives me goose bumps to see and hear the atmosphere at Fenway Park when the Red Sox are rallying. Of course, Darnell McDonald comes in to pinch run for Papi. We all know why. We need speed, now. Hughes intentionally walks Crawford…he had gone something like 3 for 4 on the night. Josh Reddick sends a screaming liner to left field, barely fair. Brett Gardner can’t reach it. Game over. Fenway can be heard from the moon. The Red Sox beat the Evil Empire 3-2, and win the season series, because they are now 10-2 against them for the season so far.

Last night, the Rangers trounced the Mariners, 9-2. The Sox didn’t quite fare as well against the Twinkies. They did win, but it was a struggle. In fact, they were down 5-1 at one point. They finally rallied for 4 runs in the top of the 6th to tie. And then scored another one in the top of the 8th to go ahead, and give Tim Wakefield a shot at that 200th win. But it wasn’t to be, because Alfredo Aceves gave up a run in the bottom of the 8th to tie it again. The Red Sox came back in the top of the 9th and scored 2 more runs, to take the game 8-6.

Neither the Evil Empire nor the Halos played last night, so both the Rangers and the Sox are 1.5 games up in their divisions. Tonight, the Halos and Evil take on each other, in New York. I know Rangers fans want the Evil to sweep the Halos. I can’t root for that. I’m sorry, but I will NEVER root for the Evil Empire. Okay…the ONLY way I would ever cheer for them is if them winning got the Red Sox into the playoffs. The only way. And then I would have to bathe my soul afterward, and fast and pray for maybe an entire week.


Steph picked up her schedule yesterday for her senior year! She is so excited. There will have to be a slight modification or two, for one thing, because there is no 5th period on it. We have our bowling party coming up this Saturday. That should be a blast. We have to order two cookie-cakes for that.

Not much else to talk about, and time is running out.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

