A Successful Sleepover

It’s Saturday, early afternoon, as I write this entry.

I’m feeling really good, because Stephanie had a really great time at a sleepover last night. Some of the girls from The Exchange Church had a sleepover, and she was invited. At first, she was exited about going. She had her stuff packed by noon yesterday. Then, as time got closer, as is her habit, she began to have doubts. She waffled back and forth for a couple of hours. Finally, while I was on my way home, she decided she did not want to go. I had mixed feelings about this. My wife and I had been looking forward to a sort of “date night,” with Steph staying somewhere else. On the other hand, she has been known to start out a sleepover, but get “cold feet” halfway through and call in the middle of the night, wanting to come home. And this place was almost 20 miles from our house. But around 6:30pm, my phone rang. Since it was a number I didn’t recognize, I assumed it would be someone calling an RSVP for the bowling birthday/back-to-school party next weekend. But no. It was one of the adult ladies who was hosting the party. “Why doesn’t Stephanie want to come?” she wanted to know. I explained the situation to her. She was insistent that Steph could at least come for just the evening if she wanted, and leave around 10:30. She sincerely wanted Steph to come to the party. The selfish side of me wanted to courteously decline, saying it was too far to bring her for just a few hours, but I did the right thing. I told Stephanie what she was saying. With an earnest look on her face, Stephanie said, “I think I can stay the night.” We agreed to “play it by ear,” and take her, and if she needed to come home that night, it would be okay. So we took her.

She made it.

She had an amazing time. Christi and I had a nice evening, meandering through Roanoke on the way home and finally settling on Judge Bean’s in Keller, for dinner. I picked up Steph at 1000 this morning, and everyone there was so genuinely friendly and seemed glad that she had come. I’m really loving this church. I hope it continues to stay this good.


In baseball yesterday, the Rangers managed to get a victory over the Tribe in heart-stopping style. After falling behind early, they rallied from a 7-2 deficit to win 8-7 in the bottom of the 11th inning. The bullpen did a fabulous job after Dutch Oven’s less than stellar start. But hey, they can’t all be shutouts, can they? The Red Sox, in the meantime, lost 3-2 to the Evil Empire, which caused them to drop to second place in the ALE. Today, John Lackey faces off against CC Sabathia. I’m not feeling good about it. Lackey has not performed well this season. I’m hoping that today will be an exception. My hitter yesterday, Marco Scutaro, did not get a hit. I’m officially withdrawing from this year’s “Beat the Streak” contest, as there are not enough games left for me to “beat the streak.” The home run contest is still on, but I can’t seem to get more than 2 in a row in that one. It’s tough to guess who is going to hit a home run today.


I’m working on re-recording some of the records, since I discovered that I had a setting wrong on my computer, causing it to not be picking up all the tracks. So I won’t be writing about those until I get caught back up.

I guess that’s it for today.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

