Living On the Edge

How am I “living on the edge,” you might ask? I’m glad you asked!

You see, when I opened my frozen Stouffer’s macaroni and beef dinner for lunch yesterday, at work, I looked at the end of the box. The “expiration date” on the box was January 2011! What?? Well, it’s frozen, right? So I ate it anyway. I’m fine. I didn’t die or get horribly ill. My take on frozen stuff is that it is good pretty much forever. I probably wouldn’t do that at home, but I didn’t have anything else to eat for lunch.

How else am I living on the edge? I HAVEN’T HAD A SODA IN FIVE DAYS!! Anyone who knows me, knows how significant that is. My doctor wants me to quit totally. Mainly because I’ve been drinking diet sodas since around 1980-something. She believes they are really bad for us. I may not quit completely, but they will be few and far between. I’m drinking a lot of water, and my “Coke Zero with cherry” at Sonic has been replaced by “unsweetened tea with peach.” There’s a very little sugar in the peach flavoring. So, yeah! I’m “living on the edge.”

Yesterday was a pretty good day at work again. Two in a row. Considering how things have been going for the rest of the month, that was awesome! Hopefully, that trend will continue. After work, I cooked chili for Christi and me. Then we watched the elimination episode of “So You Think You Can Dance” (we both picked Ryan to go home and we were right), and this week’s episode of “Masterchef,” followed by the latest episode of “The Big C.” That’s a strange show, but I think I like it. I’m a huge fan of Oliver Platt.

Baseball yesterday was a mixed bag. The Evil Empire of Grumpy Old Men lost to the Bluebirds AGAIN!! Yay!!! But the Sox gave on up to the Desperate Housewives, mostly because Ryan Miller couldn’t pitch his way out of a paper bag last night. He gave up 7 runs in less than three innings. Everyone has a bad day. So the REd Sox winning streak was cut short last night as they lost 9-6. They tried to rally, but it fell short. But since that other team lost, too, the Sox remain in first place by 1.5 games. The Crybabies (my new name for the Orioles) lost again to the Tribe. Poor things. They’ve lost 9 in a row. Poor, poor Buck Showalter. It’s going to very interesting when Boston goes up there Monday. Nelson Cruz did not hit a home run last night. No one on the Rangers did. In fact, three of their four runs were scored on SAC flies! How weird is that? Streak back to zero. David Ortiz has hit three homers off of James Shields, who is pitching tonight, so I’ll pick him. Youk got two hits off of David Price, so my streak there continues at two. Gonzo has .714 avg against James Shields!! Hahaha! He’s also on of the “Picks of the Day,” so I’ll go with him for today’s game.

I’m continuing to rip The Association “Live” to digital this morning. Actually, it’s all ripped now, I just have to separate the tracks. I decided it was much easier to record one long track per side, and then split them later. It’s very easy to split a track with this program.

Today will be a busy day. After I get done with my Bible readings, I need to get to the grocery store for the week, because we’re going to Mineral Wells for the afternoon to visit with Grandma and Grandpa. By the time we get home, Rachel and Justin should be over here, and we will either play games or watch stuff with them for the evening. Tomorrow, it’s back to The Exchange Church, where we’re pretty sure we’re going to stay. Also, they are having a “Night of Worship” tomorrow night, which we might attend.

I guess that’s it for today. If you want to continue on to my devotional blog, go HERE.

TTFN, y’all!

Leave a Reply

