American Idol: One of 9 Voted Off

It’s Thursday night. We all know what that means. TOMORROW’S FRIDAY!!!

Oh. Right, but that’s not what this is about, is it? Tonight is elimination night on American Idol. After a less than stellar performance night (disappointing, since the catalog was from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame), it’s hard to guess who might be going home. Before we start watching, I’m going to go out on a limb and predict that Stefano, Haley and…and…heck, I don’t know. I want so badly for it to be Jacob. I’m wishing that all of America would get as disgusted with him as I did last night. I know for sure that the guy on Television Without Pity was certainly disgusted with him. By the way…let me warn you. Do NOT click on that link if bad words offend you. There are about a bazillion bad words in that review. It’s “TWOP,” after all… I wonder if they’ll figure out a way to have William on the show again…

Oh, and by the way, this is late…we’re watching it delayed, because Christi and Stephanie cooked a wonderful steak dinner with mashed potatoes, creamed corn and gravy. And garlic bread. And asparagus for me because I don’t like creamed corn. We ate around the table! Can you believe it?

Anyway, let’s get this road on the show. Er…I mean…oh, you know what I mean.

Oh, good grief! Ryan is promising another “shocking results night.” Last week wasn’t all that shocking, so I don’t believe him. Constantine will be performing, and I’m surprised as heck to hear that Iggy Pop will be there! Anybody else reading this even know who he is? Well, I do. So there.

First the group song. A rock medley. Starts with “I Love Rock & Roll,” which began too low for Haley. But it got better. Segue into “The Letter,” which is a good song for Paul. Then it’s “Sweet Home Alabama.” They really aren’t doing segues…just kind of jerking from one song to another. It’s actually one of the better group songs that I’ve ever heard on here. I guess that means they won’t be doing the small ensembles like last week.

Oh, yeah. We have to see the Ford commercial. And oh, look! Russell Brand helped them with “charisma” before the performance show.

The lights are dim. He starts with Casey, Stefano, and Lauren. I’m guessing Stefano is in the bottom three. Lauren is safe. Casey is safe. My guess is correct.

Now Constantine will sing “Unchained Melody.” He really doesn’t look any where near as cool as he things he looks. Ooh. There are some very bad notes in his performance. He is very badly off key for a big part of the song. Wow.

Ah. More filler. We have to watch a clip of Gwen Stefani dressing these girls badly.

And the lights are dimmed again. We get Paul, Scotty, and Pia. Hmm…I don’t have a guess on this one. If it were up to me alone…I think it would be Scotty (Sorry, Robin!). But Scotty is safe. So who goes to the very uncomfortable stools? It’s Pia. First time for her.

Aargh! More filler!!! I swear, this show could easily be 30 minutes! Idol, you are wasting so much of my time!!!

Dim the lights and here we go. James, Haley, and Jacob…all that’s left. James is safe. Good, good. Pleasepleasepleaseplease let it be Jacob! YES!!!! Jacob is in the bottom three. I guess America just wasn’t willing to look in that mirror, Jacob!

And now, we get to hear Iggy Pop! Cool! Oh, dear. He’s shirtless. He looks kind of stupid, actually. And old. Oho..what did he say?? I wonder if he said something bad that caused him to get blanked out? I must say, I’m a little disappointed. I was really looking forward to seeing Iggy…but now I wish I hadn’t.

Back to business. But first a commercial. Please let it be Jacob. (It’s probably Stefano…) Please let it be Jacob! Dang it. Jacob is safe. PIA??? Wow!! Everyone is stunned. Unbelievable. One of the best voices in the competition. I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again. AMERICA IS STUPID!!! Wow. Christi says it’s Gwen Stefani’s fault. Heh. I don’t disagree with that.

I guess that’s it for this week.

TTFN, y’all!

2 thoughts on “American Idol: One of 9 Voted Off

  1. Jeff, I typed in a comment last night on my iPad, but it didn’t take. I totally agree about Jacob’s statement on performance night. What? Are you that arrogant or are you too dim to understand what it sounded like? I hope the latter. I hope he thought he was encouraging people to make a difference in the world. Lauren’s outfit was atrocious and her hair nearly as bad. I disagreed with you on Scotty. I loved his performance, and on a number of other sites, he got even more top votes than Pia. I liked Paul’s performance and you didn’t. But Pia had a top-notch performance. No way should she have gone home before Jacob or Stefano or Paul. I always figured she would be at least in the final three. Very hard to predict a winner this year.

Leave a Reply

