American Idol: One of 11 Voted Off

After last night’s performance show, which, in my opinion, was one of, if not THE, best performances I have ever seen since I’ve been watching Idol, we have to find out tonight who got the lowest number of votes. I’m really pretty clueless who it’s going to be, but if I were forced to guess, I would probably say Stefano. So there…I’ve made a guess. Now let’s get on with the show.

I haven’t heard, yet, what guest artists will be on tonight. Steven Tyler is wearing an ankle length vest tonight. I love that guy! Sugarland and Jennifer Hudson will be singing tonight.

Ah…so Jennifer’s husband helped the contestants with their in ear monitors. That helps explain the better pitch last night.

So the top 11 will now perform “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.” So why weren’t they showing us Pia while she was soaring there? This was one of the better group songs that they have done. Wow. What a week! Oh, they aren’t through. Well…Stevie is there. Stevie Wonder. It looks like even the judges didn’t know he was going to be there. Aw….they’re singing “Happy Birthday” to Steven Tyler! How special is that?? They have cake and everything!

Ryan is promising some surprising results. After last night, any results will be a surprise. but first we have to see the Ford commercial. Ok…dim the lights, here we go…looking for the bottom three.

First up, we get Lauren, Pia, and Scotty. Two of them were in my bottom three last night. All three of them are safe, though. Ryan is mean. Haha…their faces were priceless…He made them think they were ALL going home!

More commercials. But since we DVR and start at 7:30, we don’t have to watch them. Nyah!

And first we listen to Sugarland. Oh, my. I’m sorry, but that lead singer is awful. This is not much better than the Black-Eyed Peas. Christi said it was worse, but I don’t think that’s possible.

Now we have to watch some shenanigans that have to do with James’s obsession over pro wrestling.

And the lights go dim. We get James and Paul. Uhoh…Paul’s going down isn’t he? What??? Ryan says both of them are NOT safe?? Oh, no!!! It’s Hulk Hogan!!! ROFL!!! James Durbin is on the floor!!!! James is freaking out! And Hulk says that both of them ARE safe! Oh, my, but this is fun tonight! And then Hulk Hogan pounds Ryan into the front row.

Half of those left are in the bottom three. Right? Jacob, Thia, and Stefano are on the stage, now. Jacob goes first, and he is safe. Back to the couches. That leaves Thia and Stefano. Thia is in the bottom three. So is Stefano.

Next up are Naima, Casey, and Haley. One of them is in the bottom three. First, Naima gets to go back to the couch. So that leaves Casey and Haley. Casey is going to the bottom three.

Okay, now…let me say something. I have felt for a long time that the “bottom three” was somewhat of a ruse. I’m not sure that I have ever believed that all three of the “bottom three” were really the three bottom vote getters. I think that two of them might be…but sometimes it felt like the third one was just to make things interesting. I have no way to prove this, though. It’s just an opinion based on nothing more than feeling. Plus, anyone who knows me knows how much I love conspiracies, right?

Now, we hear Jennifer Hudson. Ryan said she was an Idol winner, but she didn’t win. She’s got a great voice, but I don’t like this song. The end was pretty much screaming. Oh, well.

Now for more results. First, he should send someone back to the couch right away. That person is…Thia. Whoa! Really?? Suddenly, I’m a little nervous. But first…commercials!

The lights go down again. The person with the lowest number of votes is…Casey. I am stunned! He’s going to sing “I Don’t Need No Doctor.” Wow! That’s bold. Did I predict a save last night? I meant to…

Yeah. They’re saving him. And he is literally freaking out!! He is shaking. Wow. What a stunning night. They cut him off while he was singing and made it known very quickly that they were saving him. And the really great news is that he will get to tour with the top 10, which will instead be the top 11. I’m watching the scene again. He asks the judges as his hands were trembling, “It’s top 11, why would you do this?”

Well…what a night. What a week. Possibly the most intense night in Idol history. Wow. That was gut-wrenching.

That’s it for tonight. I’ll be back next Wednesday night for another top 11 performance.

TTFN, y’all! And congratulations Casey!

One thought on “American Idol: One of 11 Voted Off

  1. Yeah, what a night. I didn’t care for Jennifer’s song either although she has a fabulous voice. I didn’t hear Ryan call her an AI winner. He called her an Oscar winner. She went out something like 7th from last, I think. (That was before I started watching; Season 4 was my first year.) I do like Sugarland’s song, although I’ve heard it about a million times since it released (slight exaggeration LOL), so I didn’t really need to hear it again.

    I loved the way the judges didn’t make Casey sing. Could have been for reasons of time. Planned or not, it made for one more surprise. Casey’s reaction was priceless.

    Robin

Leave a Reply

