We Are the Champions

It’s unbelievable, but the Texas Rangers are the American League Champions after tidily disposing of the Evil Empire in last night’s ALCS game. The final score was 6-1, with the solo Evil run being scored on a horrendously botched ump call. Hmm…reminds me of the botched call in game 4 that should have been reviewed to show that those crazy fans did, in fact, interfere with Nelson Cruz’s attempt to catch Cano’s “home run.” But the Rangers won the series 4-2, so I won’t complain about those calls any more.

I was a nervous wreck all day yesterday, from the time I got up, until the time that A-Roid watched the final pitch of the game go right by him as a called strike. How poetic that he should make the last out of the series. And how poetic that he struck out looking! For some reason, that just made it much sweeter.

The post game festivities were great fun. I think it shows great maturity and fabulous team spirit that they entire team opted to celebrate on the field with Gatorade instead of champagne, for Josh Hamilton’s sake. And what about his MVP speech? How much more selfless can a man be? First, he gave credit where credit is due; to God and Jesus Christ. And I guarantee that Josh is sincere, and not just spouting off, “I want to thank God” like so many celebrities do. Jesus Christ has changed Josh Hamilton’s life and made him what he is today. Then, when the announcer tried to get him to talk about his own accomplishments, he said, “I don’t want to talk about me!” Almost in tears, he insisted on talking about the team; the team that won the American League Championships. And the Rangers are, indeed, a TEAM! I don’t know if I have ever seen a group of baseball players get along the way the Texas Rangers have this year, and I’m including the 2004 Red Sox in that mix. I’m a lifelong Red Sox fan, and I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a Sox team that got along as well as these Rangers. They are a unit. There is chemistry there that cannot be denied. Oh, sure…there are probably one or two that don’t quite fit in, but they accept whoever comes along as one of them. I especially love the way Vladimir Guerrero has fit in with them. To come in from the Angels and immediately blend in the way he did…and always a smile on his face. In contrast, the Evil Empire, great players though they are, don’t seem to be a “team.” They are just a bunch of hired hands playing a game. I guess it’s proof that, sometimes, even all the money in the world can’t buy a championship.

Now we sit back for a day or two to see who our opponent will be in the World Series. Philly or San Fran. I’m voting for the Giants, myself. They don’t have blizzards interrupting World Series games in San Francisco.

And Stephanie, Christi and I will be attending the fourth game of the World Series in Arlington. I almost can’t believe it.

Somebody pinch me, so I know this isn’t a dream.

TTFN, y’all!

One thought on “We Are the Champions

  1. I agree with everything you said, they are an aweosme unit and I think that is what makes them work! Cant wait for the World Series!

Leave a Reply

